The Southeastern Bat Diversity Network was founded in 1995 at the North American Symposium on Bat Research (NASBR). Bat biologists, land managers and others interested in the conservation of bats that occur in the southeastern United States constitute the membership. The SBDN was formed to facilitate communication within the region, identify priorities and needs specific to the southeastern US and develop and implement programs that address regional bat conservation needs. 

Until 2010, SBDN was directed by a President, President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer, and a 10 member Board of Directors. In 2010, SBDN underwent a major reorganization that resulted in new Bylaws. The most recent version can be downloaded here. Under the new bylaws, SBDN is now directed by an Executive Committee (EC) consisting of a President, President-Elect, Treasurer, Past President, Secretary, and Board Member at Large. A complete description of the EC positions is provided in the Bylaws document. The current EC position are listed below.

President
Katrina Morris
Katrina.Morris@dnr.state.ga.us

President-Elect
Steve Samoray
ssamoray@copperheadconsulting.com

Past President
Brian Carver
bcarver@tntech.edu

Treasurer
Luke Dodd
luke.dodd@eku.edu

Secretary
Katherine Caldwell
katherine.caldwell@ncwildlife.org

Board Member At Large
Pete Pattavina
pete_pattavina@fws.gov